Testimonials 2018-09-06T09:32:03+00:00

“Thank you to Hometown Plumbing & Heating for the excellent craftsmanship and customer service as the plumbing and HVAC contractor for Liberty High School. The building was designed for many energy efficient features that are advanced in nature, including our unique geothermal heating and cooling. I know from a distance that this effort took a high degree of coordination with vendors and other trades. We are thankful for the commitment to excellence that Hometown has shown in their work and look forward to our future in this magnificent facility.”

SCOTT KIBBY, PRINCIPAL, LIBERTY HIGH SCHOOL

Hometown Plumbing & Heating has won numerous industry accolades throughout our 35 years in business. But no award is more important than the praise we’ve earned from our clients and peers. We believe their comments attest to our endless pursuit of excellence in everything we do. We invite you to learn more about us from those who know our work best.

Scott Kibby | Principal | Liberty High School 2018-08-06T15:00:50+00:00

Thank you to Hometown Plumbing and Heating for your excellent craftsmanship and customer service as the plumbing and HVAC contractor for Liberty High School. The building was designed for many energy efficient features that are advanced in nature including our unique geothermal heating and cooling. I know from a distance that this effort took a high degree of coordination with the general contractor and other vendors so that the project design could be fully implemented and time lines were met.

Hometown was flexible with the many events and tours that come along with opening of a comprehensive high school. We have been appreciative of their responsiveness in making sure these community events come off smoothly.

We have lived in our space for roughly a month now and we have enjoyed the comfort and consistent climate that the system is providing both staff and students at Liberty High School. We are thankful for the commitment to excellence that Hometown has shown in their work.

David Kull | Senior Engineer | Iowa American Water Company 2018-09-05T07:35:50+00:00

On behalf of Iowa American Water, I would like to thank Hometown Plumbing & Heating for the success of our Utica Ridge Booster Station project. This project went very smoothly thanks to the efforts of your entire team.

Though conflicts arose throughout the project, you were able to keep the project on schedule and minimize extra work. Additionally, I appreciate Hometown’s review of the project plans and recommendations for piping changes that realized efficiencies on the project.

This is the third booster station that we have completed with Hometown over the last five years. The pride that Hometown takes in providing quality work is evident. Thank you for your efforts on this project and we look forward to future successful projects with Hometown.

Tim Kesterke | Supervisor, Buildings and Grounds | Burlington Community School District 2018-06-19T16:01:02+00:00

On behalf of the Burlington Community School District we would like to take this time to thank Hometown Plumbing and Heating for the great job that was done installing a new boiler system in James Madison School. The entire Hometown team demonstrated the highest level of professionalism throughout the project and delivered exactly what we needed. Their expertise and attention to detail was evident from start to finish.

Kirk Baker, the project manager, had control of the project from the beginning and put together an aggressive schedule that was conveyed to all trades several weeks before the start date. Project meetings were key to keeping the project flowing smoothly as well. Hometown ensured we were all on the same page and answered any questions that arose throughout the project. This paid dividends as the project was completed in only 11 weeks.

As with many major building upgrades, this project had unforeseen issues requiring quick resolution. The boilers would not fit down the exterior stair well, presenting an obstacle from the start. Before the project even began, Hometown had developed a plan to remove windows, anchor to the roof, and lower the boilers into the mechanical room. This was a creative solution that ensured the project kept flowing smoothly.

As an owner, Hometown was exactly the type of general contractor we were looking for when bidding this project. This project was completed on time with much satisfaction because of the positive attitudes, excellent workmanship and knowledgeable employees along with Kirk’s strong leadership, communication and business skills.

Thanks again for your hard work. We look forward to working with Hometown on other projects as we move forward.

Mahlon Sibert | Director of Property | Girl Scouts of Eastern Iowa and Western Illinois 2018-06-19T15:56:14+00:00

On behalf of Girl Scouts of Eastern Iowa and Western Illinois, I would like to thank Hometown Plumbing & Heating for the great job that was done working on Camp Liberty Lodge. The plumbing project they undertook at our new Camp Liberty Lodge was a daunting task, but they definitely met our expectations.

From our past experience with Hometown Plumbing & Heating, we are confident that any project they work on will be completed as promised. Hometown helped us meet our deadline and over 1300 girls were able to enjoy camp and all the amenities it has to offer. We look forward to working with Hometown on other projects as we move forward.

Wendy Rouse | Project Manager | Russell 2018-08-06T14:01:43+00:00

Hometown Plumbing and Heating was part of the Design/Build team for the Girl Scouts of Eastern IA / Western IL 16,400 square foot lodge and banquet facility located at Camp Liberty in New Liberty, Iowa. Hometown was involved from the beginning of the planning stages and assisted with design decisions regarding the type and location of the fire sprinkler water storage tank and location of the new water well. They also worked collaboratively with the entire team to provide value engineering/cost reduction ideas for the project.

Hometown was asked to prepare and submit the Iowa Department of Natural Resources (IDNR) Water Use Permit for the proposed private water drinking well, which was installed to provide all domestic water to the new facility. There were many challenges with preparing and coordinating all of the requirements for the permit. The well installation contractor was contracted directly with the Owner, the location of the well had to be revised due to property boundaries, and the IDNR required three (3) submittal revisions, each with lengthy review times. The IDNR Water Use Permit was ultimately received with ample time to complete the installation of the new well.

The dedication of the planning group and the steady, timeliness of Hometown’s construction team resulted in a facility that will serve the Girl Scouts for generations to come.

Brad Klaes | Project Manager | McComas-Lacina 2018-07-11T14:29:15+00:00

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you and your team at Hometown Plumbing & Heating for the fantastic work you did at Liberty High School. Your workmanship, quality and knowledge is among the best in the trade. We appreciate your commitment to meeting our schedule, solving conflicts before they became issues in the field and your ability to consistently set the pace for other trades throughout the duration of the project. Hometown ensured the customer satisfaction with the finished product even if it meant going above & beyond.

We have a strong working relationship between our companies due to their level of exceptional service, performance and quality craftsmanship. We look forward to our collaboration on future projects. McComas-Lacina Construction would highly recommend Hometown Plumbing and Heating to anyone.

John Baker | Project Manager | Merit Construction Company 2018-09-05T08:02:04+00:00

It is my pleasure to highly recommend Hometown Plumbing & Heating as a preferred subcontractor of Merit Construction Company.They were instrumental in the success of the Merrill Hotel & Conference Center project.

Shane Burmeister, the Project Manager and Steve Brown, the Field Superintendent provided experienced leadership. Shane was very organized with the pre-construction, construction and close-out. Additionally, he was very proficient and worked hard to keep the project schedule and costs in line. Steve took care of the day to day management of the job. He maintained harmony with all other trades on-site and ensured that the schedule was met.

The entire Hometown team was professional and dedicated to providing a quality product for the end user. We look forward to working together with Hometown on future projects.
In conclusion, I want to thank Hometown Plumbing & Heating for their commitment to excellence and for being a great partner with Merit Construction on the Merrill Hotel & Conference Center project.

Adam Bunnell | Project Manager | Design Engineers 2018-06-20T10:56:47+00:00

I am writing this to compliment Hometown Plumbing and Heating on the great experience we had working with them on the Iowa City Community School District – Liberty High School project. Hometown was the mechanical contractor responsible for installing plumbing systems and HVAC hydronic systems and equipment, along with overseeing and coordinating the work of their subcontractors for HVAC sheet metal, insulation, and temperature controls. The project contained many advanced and highly energy efficient systems that required close coordination and attention to detail both prior to and during installation. Hometown did a great job paying attention to details during the coordination drawing process and coordinating with other trades, and then making adjustments during the installation process when necessary to ensure the systems can operate as intended.

The building is going through the utility rebate processes, in which the building as design is compared to the code base building. Energy saving strategies were reviewed relative to first cost and expected payback. The final design is expected to save 44% kWh relative to a code base building as defined by ASH RAE 90.1-2010 appendix G, resulting in an approximate annual energy savings of $150,000. The utility process is currently verifying the constructed building relative to the design building model.

Hometown Plumbing and Heating was instrumental in the development of the building information model for school. They took the lead in coordinating between trades and their sub-contractors. I feel their final product is high quality and look forward to seeing how the building systems hold up through the tests of time.

One of the specific challenges of the project was the unique chiller/ heater coupled with the ground source heat exchanger, which provides the buildings heating and chilled water. This highly efficient central plant system required a significant amount of large diameter piping, control sensors, pumps, complex piping arrangement, and three rotary-screw chillers, all of which was impressively installed. During the early stages of the project Hometown produced detailed drawings of the piping layout for the mechanical room that helped facilitate a successful installation. Hometown was also proactive during startup of the central system, including helping trouble shoot initial issues.

Finally, the complexity of the mechanical systems and full commissioning process required a high level of project management and coordination by Hometown’s staff both in the office and in the field; under the leadership of Kirk Baker, Steve Brown, and Troy Young, Hometown did an exceptional job in helping make the project successful. Design Engineers would welcome the chance to work with Hometown Plumbing and Heating on future projects.

Justin Marxen | Associate Principal | Design Engineers 2018-06-20T10:55:13+00:00

I am writing this to compliment Hometown Plumbing and Heating on the great experience we had working with them on the University of Iowa Petersen Residence Hall. Hometown was the mechanical contractor responsible for installing plumbing systems and HVAC hydronic and steam piping systems and equipment, along with overseeing and coordinating the work of their subcontractors for HVAC sheet metal, insulation, fire protection, and temperature controls. The project contained many advanced and highly energy efficient systems that required close coordination and attention to detail both prior to and during installation; Hometown did a great job paying attention to details during the coordination drawing process and coordinating with other trades, and then making adjustments during the installation process when necessary to ensure the systems can operate as intended and allow for optimal maintenance access for the owner.

One of the specific challenges on the project was limited floor-to-floor heights on the student room floors; although limiting the heights helped allow the project to maximize the quantity of student rooms and keep the general construction cost down, it presented many challenges for trying to install mechanical and electrical systems. Hometown, along with their fellow subcontractors, accepted the challenge and successfully coordinated the installation of piping, ductwork, and conduits in areas with as little as eight inches of ceiling space. All of this was done without having to compromise desired ceiling heights or maintenance access, and resulted in no cost changes to the project.

Another challenge unique to this project was the heat recovery chiller system that is the primary heating plant for the building along with producing chilled water for the building and campus district chilled water system, the first of its kind installed on the University of Iowa campus. This highly efficient central plant system requires a significant amount of large diameter piping, control sensors, numerous pumps, and two rotary-screw chillers, all of which was impressively installed within a mechanical room space that also accommodated an air handling unit, electrical gear, plumbing pumps, water heaters, and fire protection equipment. During the early stages of the project Hometown produced a detailed drawing of the piping layout for the mechanical room that helped facilitate a successful installation.

Finally, the complexity of the mechanical systems and full commissioning process required a high level of project management and coordination by Hometown’s staff both in the office and in the field. They did an exceptional job in helping make the project successful.

Tyler Riley | FEH Design 2018-08-15T17:17:01+00:00

On behalf of FEH DESIGN, I would like to take this opportunity to thank Hometown Plumbing & Heating for the terrific job that was completed at Jefferson Elementary in Muscatine, IA. Based on prior experience, I was confident in their ability to successfully complete their contracted work for this project.

Throughout construction, Hometown continuously looked for opportunities to improve the installation and maintenance of both the plumbing and HVAC systems. Hometown’s Project Manager was always willing to evaluate different scenarios during coordination meetings. Hometown developed numerous solutions that saved money and helped the owner with future maintenance.

With any major construction project, coordination and timely installation of materials was critical to the success of the project. Hometown kept on schedule, despite long equipment lead times, and maintained a high level of coordination through the duration of the project.

I look forward to next opportunity to work with Hometown Plumbing & Heating.

Anthony Diewold | Project Manager | Klingner & Associates 2018-06-20T10:51:58+00:00

The water tube boiler installed in James Madison Middle School building was very old and a source for constant maintenance headaches. It was no longer providing sufficient capacity and reliability was poor. As a result, the School District purchased three new modular boilers as a replacement heating system for the building. Along with the boiler replacement, the owner decided to replace all of the zone pumps and associated controls. Hometown Plumbing and Heating was selected through the bidding process as the contractor to replace the boiler and pumps.

Hometown was responsible for removing the existing boiler, installing three new boilers and associated expansion tank and air separator, installing new intake and combustion piping, and for replacing five zone pumps. The existing distribution piping was to remain. The system was removed and replaced on schedule and on budget.

During construction, Hometown coordinated all necessary shut downs with the owner to prevent unscheduled outages and the work site was kept very clean. I am not aware of any call back issues from the owner. The project was completed in a very professional manner and I would be happy to have Hometown as the mechanical contractor on future projects.

Jason Chase | Design Engineer & Project Manager | KPE – Consulting Engineers 2018-06-20T10:50:29+00:00

KPE Architects & Engineers worked with Hometown Plumbing & Heating on the Garfield School Climate Control Project for the Davenport Community School District. Hometown provided both
general and mechanical contracting services for this project, playing a critical role in its development, organization, and successful completion. K-12 educational projects require very tight scheduling and coordination to ensure there is no impact to the educational environment, while still completing the project in a timely and quality manner.

There were a number of challenges involved in the Garfield School project, such as basement access for new equipment, coordination around a second independent project being performed in the building, and the addition of multiple scope items near the end of the project. A significant problem was encountered when the existing casework was removed to reveal unexpected floor elevation shifts and slightly curved outside walls/windows, making the installation of new casework and cabinet unit heaters a particular challenge. This was compounded by tolerance issues with the cabinet unit heaters. Hometown put much time and effort into coordinating and planning with the owner and KPE to devise solutions to these problems.

The most significant challenge faced during the project was the delay of the mechanical equipment. All projects in the area encountered large last-minute delays in mechanical equipment delivery that summer, making a huge impact on the intended completion schedule. With the beginning of the school year looming, Hometown worked to modify and optimize the schedule, and complete as much preparatory work as possible while waiting for the deliveries. Once the equipment arrived, they quickly and efficiently installed the cooling portion of the system and had it up and running in time for school to start during a very hot fall. They continued to ensure the remaining work was completed without impact on the students’ learning environment.

Thanks to Hometown’s team spirit, ability to organize, and willingness to adjust and meet challenges, the Garfield project reached substantial completion within a few days of the target date despite multiple equipment delays in excess of 2-3 three weeks. KPE has since worked with Hometown on several projects, and hopes to continue to do so. They are a very professional firm, easy to work with, and perform quality work in a timely manner. Their ability and willingness to work with unexpected changes is an asset to any project. We will continue to happily recommend them as bidding contractors for our clients.

Robert Braun | SGGM Architects 2018-06-20T10:38:22+00:00

We would like to thank Hometown Plumbing & Heating for the fine job they did on the HVAC work at Wood Intermediate School. This project involved installing a new heat pump system and new
ventilation throughout the school as well as the HVAC work in two new building additions.

The schedule for the project was very challenging. All work needed to be completed over the summer break in time for students to return to class in the fall. Hometown’s project manager worked closely on scheduling with the construction manager and the other contractors to make sure the project was completed on time.

This project was typical of our previous experiences with Hometown Plumbing & Heating. Their quality workmanship, good communication, and team attitude are key components to completing projects that meet owner expectations and construction deadlines. We look forward to our next opportunity to work together.

Andrew R. Daniels | Project Manager | Miron 2018-08-06T13:59:05+00:00

I would like to thank Hometown Plumbing and Heating for their efforts and professionalism on the recently completed University of Iowa West Campus Residence Hall Project. The project was unique in the sense that the University of Iowa had not built a new dormitory since the 1960’s, which brought much attention to the project.

From the onset of the project, Hometown showed their commitment to meeting the schedule and challenges with their participation in the fully coordinated BIM model. They solved conflicts before they became issues in the field and consistently set the pace for other trades with their rough-in’s, which continued through the duration of the project. It was evident Hometown’s employees took great pride in their work and it showed in the finished product. This is still evident as you walk through the lower level mechanical spaces of the building, with pipe racks that are well organized and valves/gauges purposefully placed to facilitate maintenance in the future. This fact did not go unnoticed by the University maintenance staff. The University of Iowa’s head of facilities manager commended Hometown’s professionalism and expertise. Hometown seemed to truly understand who their customer was and often went above and beyond to ensure they were satisfied with the end product.

Throughout the course of any project issues arise that need quick resolution to keep the project moving. Hometown did a phenomenal job responding to difficulties and often solved them before bigger issues arose. The team work demonstrated by Hometown is what Miron looks for in their subcontractors.

Personally this was my first experience working with Hometown Plumbing and Heating, but given their performance on the project, I look forward to continuing to build a strong relationship between our companies as we move forward.

Erik Page | Garfield Elementary School 2018-08-09T13:37:44+00:00

On behalf of Davenport Schools, we would like to take this time to thank Hometown Plumbing and Heating for the great job that was done installing a new heating and air conditioning system in Garfield School. From our past experience with Hometown Plumbing and Heating, we felt confident this project would be completed as promised. Hometown took control of this project and put together a very aggressive schedule that was conveyed to all trades several weeks before the start date.

As an owner, Hometown was exactly the type of mechanical contractor we were looking for when bidding this project. It was completed on time with much satisfaction because of the positive attitudes, excellent workmanship and knowledgeable employees. The entire Hometown team exemplified strong leadership, communication and business skills.

Thanks again for your hard work. We look forward to working with Hometown on other projects as we move forward.

Jeff Miller | Director of Facilities | Jefferson Elementary School 2018-06-19T15:57:30+00:00

On behalf of Muscatine Schools, we would like to take this time to thank Hometown Plumbing & Heating for the great job that was done installing a new plumbing & air conditioning system in Jefferson School.

From our past experience with Hometown Plumbing & Heating we felt confident this project would be completed as promised. Therefore, it was no surprise when Hometown took control of this project from the early stages and put together a very aggressive schedule that was conveyed to all trades.

We were very pleased with the quality of the workmanship and the professional attitude brought to the job site. We look forward to working with Hometown Plumbing & Heating on future projects.

Eric Fischer | Branch Installation Manager | Johnson Controls 2018-08-06T14:06:39+00:00

We had the privilege of working as the controls subcontractor for Hometown Plumbing & Heating on the Liberty High School project. The project consisted of complete mechanical installation that included heat pumps, hydronic pumps, chillers, air handling units, and energy recovery units.

This project was challenging on many levels, starting with the scale and complexity of the HVAC system. Successful installation and commission of the mechanical system demanded a high level of project management and coordination between all trades. Hometown Plumbing & Heating was instrumental in this process.

Hometown’s ingenuity and decisiveness was evident in their decision to use 3-D modeling on this project. This decision undoubtedly reduced the number of field conflicts and led to a more efficient and organized work flow. Throughout the project, Hometown demonstrated excellent leadership and communication in the face of each challenge.

From the experienced project managers through the skilled field technicians, Hometown Plumbing & Heating exemplified professionalism throughout the entirety of this project. They truly understand how to maximize the performance of all trades and direct them towards the end goal, which is a successful project and a satisfied customer.

Hometown Plumbing & Heating played a crucial role in the success of the Liberty High project and we look forward to working with them again in the future.

Mike Loehr | Account Manager | Trane 2018-08-09T13:38:02+00:00

Hometown Plumbing and Heating was the mechanical contractor for the Garfield School project consisting of the following scope:

Controls systems and equipment

  • One (1) Building Control Unit
  • One (1) Air Cooled Chiller Unit and associated pump
  • Eighteen (18) New Cabinet Unit Ventilators and associated controls
  • Ten (10) Existing Cabinet Unit Ventilators
  • Eleven (11) Fan Coil Units
  • Eight (8) Electric Unit Heaters
  • One (1) Electric Cabinet Unit Heater
  • Eleven (11) Hydronic Cabinet Unit Heaters
  • One (1) Hydronic Unit Heater
  • Two (2) Fin Tube Radiators
  • Boiler Hot Water System
    • Includes two (2) Boilers and associated pumps (BP/3 and BP/4)
  • Water Loop System
    • Includes four (4) pumps (PH/1 – PH/4) with Variable Frequency Drives
  • Four (4) Exhaust Fans (start/stop/status only)
  • One (1) Supply Fan (start/stop/status only)
  • Two (2) Combustion Fans
    • Includes interlocks to Boilers and Water Heater

This project was challenging on many levels starting with the short timeframe through the summer months to remove, demo, prepare, install, and commission the new system before the first day of school. This required excellent planning, logistic, and management skills of which Hometown was an integral part to meet or exceed the owners’ expectations.

Hometown Plumbing and Heating exemplified excellent leadership and communication as challenges became evident. From the leadership in the office through the skilled field experts Hometown Plumbing & Heating demonstrated excellence every step of the way.

All of us at Davenport Trane consider it an honor to be a part of the Hometown Plumbing and Heating team. Hometown Plumbing and Heating played a critical role in the success of Garfield School renovation project and look forward to our next venture together.

Thomas J. Timmerman | President | Quad Cities Directional Boring 2018-09-05T07:49:29+00:00

We had the privilege of being the directional boring subcontractor to Hometown Plumbing & Heating for the Utica Ridge Booster Station project. Due to the large scope and complexity of this particular project, coordination and planning was key to its success. Hometown exemplified professionalism throughout the entire project.

We encountered many challenges on this project including crossing several fiber optic, electric, telephone, and gas service lines. Hometown located the utilities and gave us a clear path to complete successful bores without interruption. Hometown also provided vacuum trucks to clean up bore spoils we created along the way.

The success of any project depends on the team that is assembled and the capability to communicate and work collaboratively towards the end goal. Hometown assembled a team of professionals and their contribution to our team made this project commendable. Their dedication to safety, quality, and excellence is quite impressive. I would highly recommend Hometown Plumbing & Heating and welcome their contribution towards future projects.

Shawn R. Gallagher | Project Manager | LADCO 2018-06-19T15:46:55+00:00

Ladco Inc. had the privilege of being selected as the HVAC contractor for Hometown Plumbing and Heating on the new Liberty High School project located in North Liberty IA.

Hometown Plumbing and Heating’s lead on this project was outstanding. It was a pleasure working with Kirk Baker and his entire team from the very beginning through this two-year plus timeline. The project was difficult, and with the 740 plus RFI’s, sometimes unbearable, but Kirk kept everyone on point, up to date, and focused. Computer modeling was not contractually required for this project, but had Hometown Plumbing and Heating not taken the initiative and lead on this, the project would have been much more difficult.

Ladco Inc. would like to thank Hometown Plumbing and Heating for selecting us for the HVAC portion of this project. We look forward to working together on many projects in the future.

Please feel free to give us a call if you would like to further discuss this project or our working relationship with Hometown Plumbing and Heating.

Chris Lomelino | President | Tri State Insulation 2018-08-06T14:38:46+00:00

It is with great pleasure that we present Hometown with this letter of recommendation and appreciation for the successful collaboration on the North Liberty High School – Phase l project. It has been our distinct honor and privilege to have been able to work with you and your company on this project as well as a multitude of successful projects. From your project management team to your field supervision and craftsman it has been our pleasure to assist you in the completion of a monumental project such as the new North Liberty High School.

Having worked in the mechanical and plumbing insulation field for over 19 years, I have had the opportunity to work alongside many mechanical and plumbing contractors. It is with complete confidence that I can say the craftsmanship, attention to detail, and safety practices of Hometown Plumbing & Heating stand far above the rest. Hometown’s ability to adapt to the ever-changing work environment and manage not only its own personnel, but those of multiple subcontractor’s was exemplary. Without a doubt, Hometown Plumbing & Heating has set the standard for efficiency and professionalism in their field.

Jake Redeker | Project Manager | Sam’s Well Drilling 2018-06-19T15:40:59+00:00

Sam’s Well Drilling had the privilege of being the geothermal subcontractor to Hometown Plumbing & Heating for the Iowa City Community School District’s new Liberty High School. Due to the large scope and complexity of work on this particular project, coordination and planning was key to its success. The entire team at Hometown exemplified professionalism throughout the project.

As the geothermal subcontractor, we were responsible for the installation of 82,000 active feet of pipe. The system runs beneath the location of the future sports complex and was designed to service the 263,000 sq. ft. building. We began having issues with ground conditions shortly after drilling began. We consulted with Hometown’s project manager and CAD specialist and the necessary changes were made to ensure installation would be successful.

The success of any project depends on the team that is assembled and the capability to communicate and work collaboratively towards the end goal. Hometown assembled a team of professionals and their contribution to our team made this project commendable. I would highly recommend Hometown Plumbing & Heating and welcome their contribution towards future projects.

Bob Inghram | Division Manager | Active Thermal Concepts 2018-08-09T13:38:15+00:00

Recently we had the opportunity to work with Hometown Plumbing and Heating to perform the mechanical systems insulation contract for the James Madison Elementary Boiler Replacement in Burlington, Iowa. While we have performed numerous projects with Hometown over the years, this is yet another example of a well-managed project they can add to their portfolio.

As with prior projects, Hometown’s superintendent communicated with me in a very timely manner. This allowed us to order the material and perform our work without wasted trips to the jobsite, which was an hour and a half away from our office. I would also like to comment on the thought process Hometown’s superintendent provided in the installation of the heating water pipe. The project utilized grooved pipe fittings, which can be very easy to install without proper clearance for our pipe insulation. However, Hometown’s team installed the pipe exactly as needed. We appreciate this type of workmanship, as we were allowed to install our insulation without any issues.

I always look forward to working with Hometown Plumbing. It is an honor and a privilege to work with your company.

Tim Rabenberg | Vice President | Baker Group 2018-08-09T13:38:36+00:00

Baker Group has had the privilege of being the Building Automation Systems sub-contractor to Hometown Plumbing and Heating for the University of Iowa’s Petersen Residence Hall. This project is the first opportunity that Baker Group has had to work with Hometown Plumbing and Heating.

Petersen was not much different from other HVAC project scopes that we’ve had, other than the fact that it was on a grand scale. It’s not often that we get to work on 10 story buildings, so every challenge that presented itself was often multiplied in complexity.

As a Temperature Controls Contractor, we rely heavily on the strengths of the Mechanical Contractors that we are sub-contracted to. In this case, Hometowns strengths were many. We were able to directly collaborate with Hometown and their foremen on-site, offering an unprecedented level of timely, accurate and valuable service to the customer.

An added challenge to this project was the Commissioning process. A third party contractor was hired to commission the building and verify the work that was performed. We were very appreciative of the prompt and professional responses that Hometown produced. Without exception, action items were resolved to everyone’s satisfaction in a very timely matter. As an example, several dozens of the fan coil units were shipped without condensate level switches. Hometown worked directly with the equipment manufacturer and us to get the new switches ordered, then went above and beyond to foster a relationship between the Electrical Contractor and the equipment manufacturer that became critical in getting the switches installed in a fashion that protected the warranty and met the project timelines. It has been our experience that often times issues like this get a “not our problem” response. Hometown once again proved to be the exemplary exception.

We take great pride in the completion of this project, and in helping achieve another LEED (Silver) rating for a customer.

Baker Group would like to express our confidence in Hometown Plumbing and Heating and our desire to work with them on future projects. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss further.

Linda Weaver | Midwest Fluid Balancing 2018-06-19T15:35:09+00:00

Hometown Plumbing and Heating has been a great company to work with from large to small projects. We are a small Testing, Adjusting and Balancing company, we typically send one technician to the project site. Hometown understands we need to have adequate time to complete our work. We are only able to begin our work after they are 100% complete with their work. That means they need to complete their work ahead of schedule to allow us time to finish before the final completion deadline.

When we find issues that will delay our finish time they are quick to address the issues so the project can move along as needed.

Our experience with Hometown Plumbing and Heating has been to do the job right the first time while maintaining good client relationships and good relationships with their subcontractors. We look forward to working on future projects with Hometown Plumbing and Heating.

Thank you for doing business with us.

Rick Cudd | Vice President | Republic 2018-06-19T15:33:55+00:00

It is with great enthusiasm that I write this letter of reference for the fantastic team at Hometown Plumbing and Heating in Davenport, IA.

Republic is a 101-year distributor of electrical and mechanical products that operates in Iowa, Illinois and Wisconsin. We have always enjoyed our partnerships with our local contracting professionals and the team at Hometown is one of the finest we have had the pleasure to partner with in our history.

Working with Hometown is always a pleasure; from their experienced engineering staff, to their knowledgeable estimators, to their talented technicians and professional office staff, Hometown exemplifies the best in mechanical contracting and project management. We have always found their staff to be easy to partner with and willing to think outside the box in managing and completing their projects on time and on budget.

The hallmark of any great firm is how well they navigate complex projects, dealing with the inevitable unplanned deviations that will occur. We can say with complete confidence that the team at Hometown is able to work through even the most complex of problems and does an amazing staff of leveraging their great relationships with distributors and their manufacturing partners. Republic is proud to support and partner with Hometown on any project they may have and would happily lend our full support however and whenever needed.

Finally, Hometown’s many industry awards, depth of successful projects, fanatical focus on safety and dedication to its staff speak volumes to their culture and character. We are proud to call them a partner and fully recommend them for any project they are seeking, knowing that their team is capable of the task.

Mike Booth | Outside Sales | Ferguson 2018-06-19T15:32:14+00:00

Ferguson has recently partnered with Hometown Plumbing and Heating on the Liberty High School project, a new high school that took two years to construct. Ferguson found Hometown Plumbing and Heating to be organized and professional from start to finish on all aspects of the project.

Due to the complexity and length of the project, purchasing and shipping was a challenge. However, Hometown and Ferguson decided to set up individual orders based on the time frame and area scheduled to be worked on. Essentially, Hometown broke down the large Liberty High School project into small, individual projects. By doing this, it enabled Ferguson to have the orders purchased, tagged, and shipped on time to the correct part of the building. Backorders were all but eliminated, allowing the project to stay on schedule.

As with every project, we had unexpected changes, but Hometown communicated these changes to Ferguson as they became aware, ensuring everything ran smoothly without delays. Ferguson values Hometown Plumbing and Heating as one of our top contractors and looks forward to partnering with them on future projects.

Charles Schimberg | President | Schimberg Company 2018-06-19T15:30:11+00:00

I am writing today to compliment the Hometown team on a job well done with the Liberty High School project. Dealing with all persons from Hometown, office and field, was an effortless and enjoyable experience for us at Schimberg. Their expertise from beginning to end was above and beyond and  Hometown’s ability to adapt and help solve issues stems from the quick response time which is top in their field. We look forward to working with Hometown on future projects.